Fortnite Battle Pass Price: How Much in V-Bucks?
Contents
A Fortnite Battle Pass costs 950 V-Bucks, and the smallest currency pack we could confirm is 1000 V-Bucks for $7.99. In other words, one minimum-sized pack covers the season pass with a bit of currency left over.
Below: what V-Bucks actually are, which packs are available in the store, and — the important part — what’s genuinely required and what isn’t.
⚠️ A note on dates first. The figures below come from two pages: the ESRB’s material on Fortnite Battle Royale and the Fortnite page on the Xbox store (both are in the source list below). Neither page carries a publication date, so the only reliable reference point is the date of this article: 19 August 2026. Epic changes prices and pack contents over time, so check the actual figure in your platform’s store before buying.
What V-Bucks actually are
V-Bucks is Fortnite’s in-game currency. You buy it with real money (or partly earn it in-game), then spend it on what the store offers: the seasonal Battle Pass and cosmetic items.
The key thing to understand from the start: this is a currency for appearance and reward progression, not for character power. The ESRB states this directly — buying V-Bucks is not required and gives no competitive advantage. A player who hasn’t spent a penny fires the same weapons as a player with a full wardrobe of skins.
This isn’t a marketing claim from Epic — it’s an assessment from a rating organisation that describes the game for parents. That makes it more trustworthy than a store advert.
Battle Pass price
According to the ESRB’s material, the Battle Pass costs 950 V-Bucks.
Now compare that with pack prices. The smallest pack named in the source is 1000 V-Bucks for $7.99. A thousand is more than 950, so:
- one such pack is enough to cover the season pass;
- after buying it, a small balance remains on your account;
- there’s no need to top up separately to afford the Battle Pass.
That’s as far as the arithmetic our sources allow us to go. How many V-Bucks the Battle Pass itself returns as you play through it — we’re not claiming a figure here: our sources don’t state one.
V-Bucks packs in the store
Here’s what we could confirm across the two sources. The blank cells aren’t an oversight — they’re an honest reflection of what’s actually stated.
| Price | How many V-Bucks | Source |
|---|---|---|
| $7.99 | 1000 | ESRB |
| $8.99 | not stated | Fortnite page, Xbox store |
| $22.99 | not stated | Fortnite page, Xbox store |
| $36.99 | not stated | Fortnite page, Xbox store |
| $89.99 | not stated | Fortnite page, Xbox store |
The Fortnite page on the Xbox store lists available purchases at exactly these four price points. The amount of currency in each one isn’t given there, and we won’t guess it — this is exactly the kind of situation where “roughly” turns into misinformation.
Prices are shown in dollars because that’s how they appear in the sources. We won’t convert them into another currency “by eye” — exchange rates move, different platform stores calculate their own regional prices, and any converted figure we gave would be invented, not factual.
What’s available without spending money
The ESRB notes that some V-Bucks can be earned by completing in-game challenges. So a free route exists — it’s just slower.
What that means in practice:
- The game itself. Battle Royale doesn’t require buying currency just to get into a match.
- In-game challenges. These give you some currency. How much and over what timeframe isn’t stated in our sources, so we wouldn’t recommend planning a season “on schedule” around it.
- The Battle Pass is a choice, not a requirement. 950 V-Bucks is paid by those who want the seasonal rewards. Without it, the game remains fully playable mechanically.
- Cosmetics don’t affect anything. A skin adds no damage, health or speed.
If you’re buying the game for a child, this is the single most useful takeaway: spending in Fortnite goes towards appearance and seasonal progress, not competitiveness.
How to estimate the cost of a season
A sequence that gets you a real figure instead of a guess:
- Open the store on your own platform — that’s where the price for your region actually shows up.
- Check which is the smallest pack that covers 950 V-Bucks.
- Compare its price with the one above ($7.99 for 1000 V-Bucks, per the ESRB). If the numbers don’t match, trust the store, not this article — prices change.
- Account for the leftover: after the Battle Pass, some unspent currency remains on your account, and it doesn’t disappear.
- Don’t buy a large pack “just in case” until you’ve decided whether you’ll spend currency on cosmetics too. The Battle Pass is covered by the minimum pack.
What we’re not claiming
The list is deliberately long — that’s the honest way to do this:
- How many V-Bucks are in the $8.99, $22.99, $36.99 and $89.99 packs. The prices are confirmed; the amounts aren’t.
- That prices are identical across all platforms. We checked two pages; we haven’t cross-checked PlayStation, Switch, mobile stores or the Epic Games site.
- What the Battle Pass costs in your local currency. Exchange rates and regional store rules aren’t within our factual scope here.
- How many V-Bucks the Battle Pass itself pays back as you progress through it. This gets asked a lot — our sources simply don’t answer it.
- That these prices will still apply tomorrow. Epic periodically changes both the amounts and the contents of packs.
- Any “cheaper” ways to buy currency. The only purchase route we write about is the official platform store.
Where else money moves in Fortnite
V-Bucks isn’t the only financial angle in this game. If you’re curious how money flows through the wider Fortnite ecosystem, we’ve covered it separately:
- In-island item sales — on transactions inside user-made islands.
- How creator payouts are calculated — where island creators’ earnings actually come from.
- Save the World: what it is — a separate Fortnite mode and its own model.
In short
The Battle Pass costs 950 V-Bucks, and the smallest confirmed pack — 1000 V-Bucks for $7.99 — covers it with some left over. Buying currency isn’t mandatory: in-game challenges hand out some V-Bucks for free, and whatever you do spend on affects appearance, not combat power.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Fortnite Battle Pass cost?
950 V-Bucks — that's the figure given by the ESRB in its material for parents. It's a price in the in-game currency, not in dollars.
How much does 1000 V-Bucks cost?
$7.99, according to the ESRB. It's the smallest pack we could confirm, and it covers the Battle Pass with some left over.
Can you get V-Bucks for free?
Yes, partly. The ESRB states plainly that some of the currency can be earned by completing in-game challenges, and buying V-Bucks isn't required.
Does buying V-Bucks give you a combat advantage?
No. The ESRB specifically notes that purchasing V-Bucks gives no competitive advantage — the currency goes towards cosmetics and the Battle Pass.
What V-Bucks packs are available in the store?
The Fortnite page on the Xbox store lists packs priced at $8.99, $22.99, $36.99 and $89.99. That page doesn't state exactly how many V-Bucks each pack contains.
Why might these prices not match what I see in the game?
Epic periodically changes both prices and pack sizes, and stores on different platforms show their own regional amounts. Our figures come from sources verified at the time this article was published.