Palworld Multiplayer and Dedicated Servers, Officially

Contents
  1. Co-op and server limits
  2. PlayStation specifics
  3. Cross-platform play
  4. What running your own server requires
  5. Single-player as a separate mode
  6. What is officially not stated

Palworld officially supports solo play, co-op, and dedicated servers — but the exact conditions vary a bit by platform. Here are the confirmed numbers from three official store pages: Steam, the Xbox Store, and the PlayStation Store.

Co-op and server limits

Steam and Xbox present a consistent picture:

  • Online co-op — up to 4 players at once.
  • Dedicated server — up to 32 players.

That covers two different scenarios: a small run with a group of friends (up to 4 people) and a full community server (up to 32 players), where the host runs separate infrastructure rather than simply inviting friends into their own world.

PlayStation specifics

The PlayStation Store paints a slightly different picture. It states that a PS Plus subscription is required to play online, and the online limit is up to 4 players. There’s no separate mention of a 32-player dedicated server on the PlayStation Store page we checked — that doesn’t mean the feature isn’t there, only that this specific official page doesn’t confirm server details in as much depth as Steam and Xbox do.

Cross-platform play

The Steam page tags the game as Cross-Platform Multiplayer, and the Xbox Store separately confirms support for cross-platform co-op. Together, that means players on PC and Xbox can officially join the same co-op session — at least according to both store pages. Whether that extends just as explicitly to PlayStation isn’t confirmed by a separate statement on the PlayStation Store page we checked.

What running your own server requires

The store pages confirm the existence of dedicated servers for up to 32 players (Steam, Xbox), but they don’t describe hardware requirements or the deployment process — that’s a matter for separate server documentation we didn’t check as part of this piece. If you’re planning your own server, it’s also worth knowing that patch v1.0.3 added a new server option, bAllowEnemyCampSpawnNearBaseCamp, which affects whether enemy camps can spawn near your base — more on how that setting relates to base building in our piece on base building and Pal work.

Single-player as a separate mode

It’s worth noting that multiplayer isn’t required. Steam explicitly lists Single-player support separately from Online Co-op — meaning the entire game, including fights against tower bosses (covered in a separate piece), can be completed entirely solo.

What is officially not stated

  • Hardware requirements for running your own dedicated server aren’t listed on the pages we checked.
  • Whether the 32-player limit applies on PlayStation the same way it does on Steam and Xbox isn’t separately confirmed on the PlayStation Store page we checked.
  • Whether a paid Xbox Live/Game Pass Core subscription is required for online play on Xbox — there’s no direct statement about this on the Xbox Store page we checked, only a list of supported features.
  • Cross-save progress between platforms (not to be confused with cross-platform multiplayer) isn’t separately described on the pages we checked.

Any step-by-step server deployment instructions for a specific hosting provider are community or third-party hosting material, not official Pocketpair documentation.

Frequently asked questions

How many players can join one co-op session?

According to Steam and Xbox — up to 4 players in online co-op. The PlayStation Store lists the same limit, up to 4 players online, but with the added requirement of a PS Plus subscription.

How many players fit on a dedicated server?

Steam and Xbox both list up to 32 players on a dedicated server. The PlayStation Store page we checked doesn't include separate information about dedicated servers.

Can you play across different platforms — say, PC and Xbox?

Yes, the Steam page tags the game as supporting Cross-Platform Multiplayer, and the Xbox Store separately confirms cross-platform co-op.

Do you need a paid subscription to play online?

On PlayStation — yes, a PS Plus subscription is required for online play. There's no direct mention of an equivalent requirement (Xbox Live Gold/Game Pass Core) on the Xbox Store page we checked, aside from a list of supported features.

Is there an offline single-player mode?

Yes, the Steam page explicitly lists single-player support separately from online co-op — it's not a mode that requires a constant connection.

Sources