Xbox vs PlayStation: how GTA 6 pre-orders differ right now

Contents
  1. The main difference: the status of the Ultimate upgrade
  2. Badges on the two store pages
  3. GTA+ bonus month: two different wordings
  4. What else the pages show
  5. Comparison table
  6. What is not officially stated
  7. In short

Short answer: Xbox already lets you buy the Ultimate Edition upgrade separately, PlayStation does not — not yet. This isn’t a rumor; it’s what the official pages of both stores show as of August 14, 2026.

The main difference: the status of the Ultimate upgrade

Xbox Store sells the “Grand Theft Auto VI: Ultimate Edition Upgrade” add-on separately for $20.00, and its status is PRE-ORDER. That means you can place the order for it right now, ahead of the game’s release.

On PlayStation Store, the same upgrade page shows a different status — Not available for purchase. There’s no price shown at all, which makes sense for an item you can’t currently buy.

The $20.00 gap isn’t a coincidence. On Xbox, the base edition costs from $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition costs from $99.99. The difference between those two prices matches the price of the standalone upgrade exactly.

Badges on the two store pages

The two stores mark the game visually in different ways.

In the Capabilities section, the Xbox page shows the badge “Optimized for Xbox Series X|S” — a technical label about console optimization.

The upgrade page on PlayStation Store shows three badges at once: “PS5,” “Ultimate Edition Upgrade,” and “PS5 Pro Enhanced.” The last of these signals support for PS5 Pro capabilities.

A direct comparison of these badges isn’t quite fair — they label different things: Xbox’s badge describes the game itself, while PlayStation’s badges describe the upgrade specifically. Still, both confirm the publishers are preparing materials for the current console generation.

GTA+ bonus month: two different wordings

Both stores promise a bonus month of the GTA+ subscription for pre-ordering, but they describe the terms differently.

Xbox states a specific window: the bonus has to be redeemed within 180 days of placing the pre-order. The same page notes that redemption is unavailable to child accounts with age-content restrictions, and that one redemption applies per Platform Account.

PlayStation Store phrases the condition differently: the GTA+ bonus can be redeemed only once per account, regardless of how many additional purchases are made. The PlayStation page says nothing about a specific redemption deadline.

One more detail applies to Xbox only: to get the Vintage Vice City Pack along with the GTA+ month, the purchase on that platform has to be made by November 20. For more on what the subscription actually gives you and who it’s worth it for, see our guide to GTA+ and GTA 6.

What else the pages show

Xbox Store lists “13 Supported languages” and the rating “RATING PENDING LIKELY MATURE 17+” — meaning the official age rating hasn’t been assigned yet, though a Mature 17+ label is expected. The same page states directly that Grand Theft Auto VI is a single-player experience. The release date shown on the Xbox page is 11/19/2026.

The upgrade page on PlayStation Store carries its own warning: GTA 6 itself is sold separately, and the base game is required to access the upgrade’s content. In other words, buying the Ultimate Edition Upgrade doesn’t replace buying the game — it only adds to it.

The general steps for pre-ordering on any platform are covered in our separate guide to pre-ordering GTA 6.

Comparison table

Detail Xbox Store PlayStation Store
Ultimate Edition Upgrade standalone $20.00, status PRE-ORDER Not available for purchase, no price shown
Base edition from $79.99 not checked — we only looked at the upgrade page
Ultimate Edition from $99.99 not checked
Badges on the page Optimized for Xbox Series X|S PS5, Ultimate Edition Upgrade, PS5 Pro Enhanced
GTA+ redemption window 180 days after pre-order not stated
GTA+ redemption limit one per Platform Account one per account
Vintage Vice City Pack deadline by November 20 not stated on the upgrade page

What is not officially stated

  • The price of the Ultimate Edition Upgrade on PlayStation Store — it will only appear once the status changes from Not available for purchase.
  • How much the base edition or Ultimate Edition costs on PlayStation Store’s own game page — we specifically checked the upgrade page, not the game’s product page.
  • Whether PlayStation applies the same 180-day GTA+ redemption window as Xbox — the PlayStation page doesn’t mention a window at all.
  • Exactly when the upgrade will become purchasable on PlayStation — no date is given on the page.

In short

As of August 14, 2026, Xbox lets you buy the Ultimate Edition upgrade separately right now, while PlayStation does not. The GTA+ bonus month terms are broadly similar in substance on both platforms but worded differently, and a few details — the upgrade’s PlayStation price and its redemption window — haven’t been disclosed yet.

Frequently asked questions

Can you already buy the Ultimate Edition upgrade on PlayStation?

No. The «Grand Theft Auto VI: Ultimate Edition Upgrade» page on PlayStation Store shows the status Not available for purchase, and no price is shown. On Xbox Store the same upgrade is sold separately for $20.00 with the status PRE-ORDER. Both pages were checked by scrape on August 14, 2026.

How much does the Ultimate Edition upgrade cost on Xbox?

$20.00. That figure matches exactly the difference between the base edition (from $79.99) and the Ultimate Edition (from $99.99) on Xbox Store.

How do the GTA+ bonus month terms differ between the two platforms?

Xbox states a specific deadline: the bonus must be redeemed within 180 days of placing the pre-order, and it notes that redemption is unavailable to child accounts with age-content restrictions. PlayStation phrases the condition differently — the GTA+ bonus can be redeemed only once per account regardless of how many additional purchases are made, and the page does not mention a specific redemption window.

What is the Vintage Vice City Pack and how do you get it?

It's a bonus that, together with a month of GTA+, is available for pre-ordering on Xbox if the purchase is made by November 20. The PlayStation upgrade page does not state a deadline for this bonus.

Can you play GTA 6 by buying only the upgrade, without the base game?

No. The upgrade page on PlayStation Store explicitly warns that GTA 6 itself is sold separately and is required to access the upgrade's content. The upgrade adds to the base game rather than replacing the need to buy it.

Sources